Former Castle HotelInitially built in 1699, the original castle's ruins can still be seen at the Wishing Well, near Cromwell's Bridge. Some historical accounts suggest that the castle belonged to the O'Reilly family until it was confiscated under Cromwell's orders in the 17th century. The castle was completely destroyed during the Cromwellian War. In 1813, Colonel James Pratt bought Cormy Castle and its 400 acres of land from Augustus Foster. He then moved "Cabra House" from the Wishing Well to the castle itself. In 1820, he renamed Cormy Castle to Cabra Castle. It was first turned into a hotel in 1964, featuring high ceilings, lavish staircases and historic hallways.